*gasp* Finished Projects!

September 13, 2010 at 11:40 am 2 comments

Yes, it’s true.  I’ve actually managed to finish a thing or two.  But in true I’m-a-busy-mom fashion, I finished them with no time to spare.

My quilt guild had a mini-quilt challenge, and the quilts were due yesterday.  We shared our quilts at our meeting, and they will all be displayed for a month or so at Whipstitch.  It’s our first big-deal event!  I can’t even tell you how excited I was to see everyone’s finished quilt.

The hand-sewn hexagon quilt was technically finished over a week ago with the exception of having to sew my name label to the back.  But the flag quilt – ugh.  I don’t know why, but what I thought would be a simple, no-brainer quilt seemed to be a project that just wouldn’t end.  It is not my best work, not by a long shot.  I am not happy with the quilting or the binding, but it’s done and overall, I like it.  I think it’ll hang in the living room when it comes home.  The binding, by the way, was sewn on to the quilt about an hour before I had to leave the house.  I think the problem was it is the smallest binding I’ve ever had to work with.  So here’s the two quilts I contributed:

My hand-sewn hexagon quilt, which is a classic pattern/technique modernized.  Each piece was made using freezer paper ironed on to the fabric pieces (temporarily) and then sewn together.  I originally wanted to make our bedroom quilt out of this design, but I found a design we like better.  So I took what I had made and put together a mini quilt (it measures about 26″) which I will hang in the bedroom.

Back of the hexagon quilt.  I found a cool tutorial and used it to make the frame of the quilt.

The Flag Quilt, which was inspired by a quilt from the “Pretty Little Quilts” book.  This is the first time I used printable fabric (for the random graphics).

The border of the front and the backing are done in the repeating Pledge of Allegiance fabric, leftover from Aaron’s quilt I made last year.  I love that fabric and glad I had a chance to use it again.

Entry filed under: Quilting & Sewing. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

What I've Been Up To Curved Piecing

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. wickedwickedwitch  |  September 14, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    You are so cool. So talented and cool. I wish I could be you!

    Reply
    • 2. patrioticquilter  |  September 14, 2010 at 2:40 pm

      Well, stick around, Little Lady. You could catch some of my cool vapors.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

