Curved Piecing

November 1, 2010 at 11:31 am 1 comment

A little over a month ago, we had our first Modern Quilt Guild meeting at our new meeting place, Tiny Stitches.  During the class, someone spotted a beautiful quilt that one of our guild members made.  Melinda is not only a member of our guild, but she also works and teaches at Tiny Stitches.  The quilt is a beautiful curved piece quilt.  Instantly, some of us were interested.  So we signed up to take her class last week.

Melinda was very gracious, as Nic, Rae and I turned out to be the only students in the class.  We appreciate that she followed through with the class and gave us extra attention!

I will admit, the curved part was rather intimidating.  You only use a pin at the start and finish of each curved piece, and for someone who is probably over-zealous with pinning, this was a huge deal for me.  Even Nic was sweating, and she’s a veteran quilter!  But after a few blocks, it became easier and easier.

The quilt and lesson came from Pat Sloan’s book “I can’t believe I’m quilting beyond the basics”, and it’s the quilt featured on the front cover:

 

The next chance I got to practice these curved pieces was the following night.  I didn’t want to wait too long, afraid I would forget what I’d learned.  But instead, I found, interestingly, that my seams were lining better in most cases than in simple, square blocks.  Maybe my technique is just getting better?

So here are the practice blocks I made in class and finished at home:

 

So, the thing is, being a modern quilter, I am more about organized color schemes and clean lines.  So I decided to change it up and create a bit more of a predictable pattern.  So here are the next two blocks I made.  I think I’ll finish the quilt in this style instead:

 

 

As silly as it is, I am really proud of my color scheme.  This is not normally something I would pick fabric-wise.  I am not much into purple/orchid, and I’m most certainly not into pinks of any kind.  But I’d been eyeballing that gray honeycomb looking fabric for a long time, waiting for the right opportunity to try it.  It made a perfect background/main fabric for this pattern, so I decided to stick with complimenting colors that I wouldn’t normally use.  I’m pretty happy with the turn out.

I’m not sure what will become of these blocks.  I want to finish a quilt with it, so maybe it’ll be gifted to someone, or I’ll use it for a giveaway should I really start selling goods and promoting my blog.

Entry filed under: Quilting & Sewing. Tags: , , , , , , .

*gasp* Finished Projects! Finally – the New Wave Quilt Top!!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Nicole  |  November 2, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    They look groovy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

