Finally – the New Wave Quilt Top!!

November 1, 2010 at 2:03 pm 4 comments

We outgrew this site and have moved on to bigger and better things, so click the image below or look for us atwww.makingmodernmemories.com

 

Whew, it is so rare that I get to post twice in the same day (or same month for that matter), much less get to show off a finished quilt top.  I’m excited to be posting this quilt top I just finished while Aaron is napping.  It’s a gift, but the recipient won’t see it on this blog.  I don’t usually post just quilt tops, only fully finished quilts, but this one has been a real stressor for me and I’m too excited to wait.  I will likely use this quilt to learn how to longarm quilt at Red Hen in the coming weeks.  If I know I won’t screw it up, that is!

This is my second go at this quilt.  It’s not an easy one, even though it looked like it would be pretty easy.  Getting the angles JUST right and making the seams line up just right are terribly difficult.  I ran into major trouble the first time I tried this quilt because as I was sewing the rows together, my seams were obviously out of whack.  This one isn’t perfect, but it lined up beautifully.  I’m contemplating going back to the original to see if I can repair it now that I’ve got some experience under my belt.

So anyway, here it is.  The quality of the pics is really sad in my opinion; I just used the pocket camera for this since I was in a hurry.  The finished quilt will get the big Nikon photo shoot.

This pattern is Elizabeth Hartman’s (Oh, Fransson) New Wave quilt:

Entry filed under: Quilting & Sewing. Tags: , , , , .

Curved Piecing Mug Rugs!!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Emilee Turner  |  November 1, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    I love this quilt pattern!! You did a great job with it…I love how it turned out!!

    Reply
  • 2. Nicole  |  November 2, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    What a happy quilt. Mazel tov!

    Reply
  • 3. Ava  |  November 22, 2010 at 7:42 am

    This is great! The colors remind me of the ocean.

    Reply
  • 4. The Bargello Quilt « Making Modern Memories  |  December 23, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    […] Earlier this year (much earlier, actually) I wanted to make a quilt for both of my moms.  I’ve been through many stages with them and both are very important and influential in my life, and I wanted to make them something to mark our history and our future together.  My birth mother’s quilt came to me almost immediately.  I saw the pattern (Elizabeth Hartman’s New Wave pattern) and saw it in blue/blue-green for her.  The blog and photos of this quilt can be found here. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

