Stash!!

January 10, 2011 at 4:18 pm 2 comments

As a quilter, today I had a great moment.  The office-to-sewing studio project is still in progress, and today I decided to clean out the three-drawer chest that will soon become an over-sized ironing/cutting table and house my fat quarters and yardage.

My fat quarters, because I didn’t have that many, were in the meantime being stored in a large plastic container.  As I brought fat quarters home, I would just toss them in the container.  Little by  little, sale by sale, and swap by swap, my stash has grown.

The top drawer of the chest is now filled with fat quarters.  I almost had a tear in my eye when  I realized that I actually have a stash now.  I know there isn’t some magic number that means you have achieved Stash Status, but for so long I felt stashless.  It’s only been a year since I started taking quilting seriously, and I am a quilter on a tight budget.

The yardage (because I get it at such good prices) is even more impressive.  I filled the entire bottom drawer with pieces that are 1/2 to 1 yard in size, and the overflow (mostly stuff I will be looking to unload over the next year) is staying on a shelf in the closet.

So, here’s my stash (and there is always room for more!!):

This is the top drawer where most of my fat quarters are stored.  I have them somewhat organized by color.  I printed off a handy, easy tutorial on folding fat quarters, so I might spend the rest of the snow day folding them to be more uniform (if Aaron lets me).  The row to the right are bundles of collections.

 

This is the middle drawer.  To the left are my blender fabrics.  The middle is a stack of Kona solids, and the right side is all bundles of collections (mostly the premium collections from JoAnn’s).

 

This is the bottom drawer, the one I’m still mulling over and contemplating.  Right now, my yardage is just stacked in there, but I’d really like to figure out a way that I can fold it so I can fit it in and see all the different fabrics.  Kind of like the fat quarters.  Part of the joy of owning fabric is looking at it and just enjoying it.

 

So yesterday we had a guild meeting for the Atlanta Modern Quilt Guild.  We had a GREAT turn out, and I was thrilled because we had two designers as guest speakers. Jessica Swift is a surface designer and painter and she has her own line of fabric through Red Rooster.  Her friend, Khristian Howell is also a designer and has several lines of Fabric through Robert Kaufman (and Anthology).  Both were very interesting and we all liked hearing about the process and how fabric comes to life.

Actually, hearing about their career paths very much reminded me of my time working as a creative director for a fundraising company, when I was designing product.  We used to buy artwork from artists, just like Jessica and Khristian.  Their work is much more exciting, though.

Both brought fabric for us to buy, and I was sure to snatch up my fair share:

This is a bundle from Khristian’s Anthology for Robert Kaufman line.  I LOVE it.  The colors and designs are amazing.  She has another line coming out in a few months called Bryant Park, and I can’t even express how excited I am for it.  The color combinations scream me.

 

This is my stack of fat quarters from Jessica.  I already have a quilt in mind for this collection.  The finishing on her fabric is just wonderful – it feels heavier and smoother than most of my other fabrics.

The stash is probably going to grow some more this month.  We have a trip planned to Sew Be It up in Ringgold and I can’t imagine coming home empty handed : )

Entry filed under: Quilting & Sewing. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

The Bargello Quilt We’ve Moved!!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nicole  |  January 10, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    Look at you, fancy, organized lady! Your room will serve you well.

    Reply
  • 2. karin  |  February 13, 2011 at 10:13 pm

    what a neat idea to keep all your fat quarters together…nice!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

