Quick Kitchen Improvement

June 11, 2010 at 10:04 pm 2 comments

Okay, so Paul and I like to both cook and eat, so we have a lot of kitchen equipment, gadgets and doodads.  And we certainly don’t have the kitchen to accomodate everything.  Therefore, we’ve had a simple, black shelf in the corner of the kitchen to hold a bunch of our stuff.  For storage, it works out, but it’s not the most attractive corner of the kitchen.  Add on the fact that I now store my sewing stuff on the bottom shelf since the kitchen is my sewing room, and we’ve got kind of a mess.  Here’s the ‘before’ pictures:

I decided to make some easy panels out of some Waverly cotton material I got on clearance at JoAnn’s.  I just measured, cut and seamed the fabric, and attached using Velcro.  Here’s the after pics:

It’s kind of sad that I haven’t sat down at my sewing machine in over a month, and when I finally do, this is all I get done : )  But getting the machine and all the stuff out is what was daunting, so now I’m ready to move on to my real projects!

Entry filed under: Quilting & Sewing. Tags: , , , .

Are you brave enough to give up shampoo? What I’ve Been Up To

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rae  |  June 11, 2010 at 11:03 pm

    Fabulous color matching with clearance fabric!

    Reply
  • 2. Heather  |  June 15, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    That looks fabulous!!! And, a great simple solution. I think you need to come over the next time you’re in STL and take a look at my kitchen and give me ideas!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed